PMLN announces names of candidates for Gilgit-Baltistan Council election

Gilgit: The Pakistan Muslim League today announced names of four candidates for the Gilgit-Baltistan Council elections scheduled for Monday, tomorrow.

The PMLN enjoys majority in the Gilgit-Baltistan Legislative Assembly, which elects members of the Gilgit-Baltistan Council. PMLN hopes to win four seats. The names announced today include Ashraf Sada, Wazir Ikhlaque, Arman Shah and Sultan Ali Khan.

Former Speaker Malik Miskeen’s name was also being taken as a potential contender for the GB Council. Nevertheless, his name seems to have been dropped.

The GB Council has six members from Gilgit-Baltistan and seven from other parts of Pakistan, nominated by PM Nawaz Sharif, who is also the chairman of the council.

The Council enjoys legislative authority over some of the most important areas, like energy, water resources, minerals, gems, to name a few.

The GB Council was established as part of the 2009 Presidential Order promulgated by the them President Asif Ali Zardari.

Related Articles

One Comment

Back to top button